Leave a comment

What does favor look like?

I was flying back to Charleston after a business trip recently and after the boarding process found myself in a row with an empty seat between myself at the window and an older gentleman on the aisle. As the flight attendant announced that the door had been closed, the older gentleman leaned over and said, “Looks like we’re living right!”, in reference to having what appeared to be the only empty seat on the plane in our row, thus allowing a little extra space.

I simply responded with a nod and a smile…

If ‘living right’ means my row-mate and I were and being rewarded with a little extra elbow room, did that mean that the rest of the passengers were living wrong? Of course not, but in my extra-tired state, this short exchange got me thinking…

Why do we seem to default to thinking that good circumstances mean that we are good with God and bad circumstances mean we’ve somehow fallen out of favor?

I guess I’m still learning to understand that even when things don’t seem to be going my way that God is still working on my behalf, still sending His Spirit to draw me closer, and still loving me beyond all that I can ask or imagine.

For the Lord corrects those he loves,
    just as a father corrects a child in whom he delights. Proverbs 3:12

I’m learning to find comfort in this scripture. His correction may not always look like I think it should… actually, probably never will… but, He knows best how to bless or correct me, and I’m okay with that.

How is God blessing or correcting you lately?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

