1 Comment

So tired of the desert already

Today I’m feeling frustrated and stirred. I have a job that keeps me very busy, and while one day rarely looks like the one before it, some weeks things feel very much the same. Maybe some people enjoy some level of routine in their work life… I am not one of those people. I have come to detest patterns and predictability. Maybe it’s my ADD, maybe I’m just wired weird… but I get antsy very easily. I am still adapting to my new surroundings, 2,200 miles from where I lived for so long, yet I can see patterns developing and that itchy thing starts again. Eight months ago, I prayed and asked God to send me on an adventure… and here I am feeling a little stagnant already. I can’t help but think about some one like Moses cruising around the desert for a few decades; how many times did he ask God about when & where does the real fun start? I heard a theory recently that if you measure where Moses and company started to where they “finished”, it was only a 9 day trip… and I get frustrated with Google Maps!

So, I’m curious… what do you do when you feel like you’re stuck in a rut? Doing things the way you’ve always done them? When you feel like you’re walking around the same desert with no end in sight?

One comment on “So tired of the desert already

  1. I struggle with this. I have a bit of “early adopter” in me and I like new and change.

    I have to constantly check my motives and Spirit and leave the timing stuff up to God.

    Don’t know if you caught this the other day, but it really affected me. Los was talking about his chance to minister to the small Christian church down the street from Buckhead and he made this statement,

    “Trying not to run from that place, but exist in that place with joy and
    a teachable spirit.”

    That hit me right between the eyes and I am letting God work that one through me right now.

    So where were you living and where are you now?

Leave a Reply

