3 Comments

My baby is engaged.

21 years ago, my sweet wife was blissfully pregnant (maybe blissful is over-kill, but let me run with it) with what would turn out to be one of the most interesting humans I’ve ever come in contact with. The day she was born was one of the most amazing days of my life. We have been very close since that day.

The day my wife and I had to say goodbye to her as she began college out of state 2 years ago was one of the saddest days of my life… and even through the tears that day my heart kept begging the question; “If you think this is difficult, what will it be like to walk her down the isle and give her hand to the young man she will choose to be her husband?”

I received word today that the countdown is now on.

Her new hardware

So, I guess this is a bit of an announcement: My oldest daughter has accepted the proposal of marriage from a young man with upstanding character and immense love for God. I find myself in an odd place of feelings… pride, fear, and equal parts sadness and joy.

3 comments on “My baby is engaged.

  1. Daddy,
    I love you and I can’t tell you how happy this day has made me. This is a new chapter in my life, and though I will be starting my own family and will no longer be a Murphy come next summer, you have been and always will be my daddy. I wish you could have been there today to share in the joy of the proposal, but I know you were there with me in spirit. I have a lot of planning to get started on and I want to be part of everything! You’re not getting rid of me yet. I love you, Daddy!

    Love,
    Rissa

  2. šŸ™‚
    i saw your twitter yesterday. hearing it via twitter right after you got off the phone…. i could so sense your OMG moment. that was HUGE.

    glad to hear he’s a godly man.

    glad i still have at least 12-50 years before boarding that emotional roller coaster.

    (ok – maybe 50 is a tad too long šŸ˜‰

    congratulations! and yes, i’ll say a prayer for you.

    [beautiful ring]

  3. Congrats on the expansion of your family. You do know what is next… grandkids. Steve M as a granddad… yep it will be a reality. Trust me man, I will be one three times over by September. I went straight from highschool to being a grandparent. What happened to all those years in between? Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

