Leave a comment

Selah Saturday Morning – Saturday cafe pt.2

I’ve gotten to where on Friday nights my thoughts are consumed with Saturday morning; the time that I can disengage from all of the busyness and have some focused time with God. Just me, my bible and a cup of Dunkin’ Donuts coffee on my front porch, rain or shine. I’m finding that these moments re-center me… that these moments really help me to pause, reflect, and pray.

Selah Saturday Cafe

I’m traveling around the Psalms a bit this morning… seeing many that are somewhat committed to memory, or at least a quick read will remind me why I highlighted some and not others. Today, it’s the margin that keeps catching my eye…. Selah. I’m a bit of a word-nerd; I love knowing the origins of words… and while there seems to be some differences of opinion on exactly what selah means, the common thread amongst the definitions is “to pause”. None of the verses tagged with selah are very earth shattering, but I’m taking a moment after each one to pause, reflect, and pray.

Psalm 143:6 I spread out my hands to you; my soul thirsts for you like a parched land. Selah

Find some selah-time today or tomorrow, and let me know what you find there.

Leave a Reply

