1 Comment

Sturday morning cafe pt. 3

Another beautiful Saturday morning at my favorite cafe (front porch) and I am imersed in the book of Job (chapters 38-42)… which is really cool because I’m really trying to read more of the old testament on a regular basis.

For those of you who don’t know me personally, I am a word-nerd; I love learning the definitions and root meanings of words.

I’m studying today from an old hard bound copy of the NIV Study Bible, and in the study notes about Job 38:1, there is a quick description about the theophany to Job. Add to the list of words that I love: theophany; God appearing to man.

In these late chapters of Job, the guy has been through some really rough times, more than anyone I know…and he’s pretty mad at God and tells Him so, and it sparks what I’m sure was an amazing conversation. Three things that grab me here:

  • 38:1 Then the LORD answered Job out of the storm. God was with Job right in the middle of his storm and was making Himself available to Job. Note to self: God is with me in the middle of my storm.
  • 38:3 Brace yourself like a man; I will question you and you shall answer me. God spoke to Job as the ultimate father would, and wanted dialog… giving Job an open forum to speak about anything. Note to self: My father, God, wants to talk to me and hear from me.
  • 42:2 I know that you can do all things; no plan of yours can be thwarted. Job came to the realization that God has everything in control, and that He is big enough to handle everything that we think we control. Note to self: Quit taking the wheel! God is a much better driver than I will ever be

Thank you, Lord, for my storms. Help me to understand that they are part of your design for making me more like your Son. Thank you for listening to me when I come to the end of myself and look to you for answers. Thank you for guiding me through the rough stuff and showing me that you are big enough to take my weaknesses and worries and transform them into trust. You are AWESOME! Amen.

One comment on “Sturday morning cafe pt. 3

  1. Dad, you have to listen to Lifehouse’s song Storm. It totally reminds me of what you blogged about.

Leave a Reply

