Leave a comment

God’s timing

I have never been a patient person. I get an idea in my head and I want to move on it… RIGHT NOW! I’m in that place at the moment; I feel like I can see some things that need to be changed and I want desperately to change them, but so much is out of my control. That doesn’t stop me from wanting to hit the gas and go-go-GO.

As I am praying about my situation, God reminds me about a time a few years ago when my best friend, my brother-in-law, and I we’re getting the spring time itch to go camping. We had talked about it for weeks and when we couldn’t stand it anymore, we picked the quickest weekend that the three of us were available and set the date. Never mind that it was only the first weekend of April and it had been a particularly chilly spring (even in Arizona), we were determined to have our “guy’s weekend” to grunt and scratch all we wanted… it was supposed to be great because my friend, Stuart, had access to a 26 foot trailer and some sub-zero sleeping bags… but (you knew there had to be a but, right?) through a set of stupid circumstances, which no one has time to read about, we ended up trekking off to Williams, Arizona with a tent and some cheap little sleeping bags that were much better suited for a slumber party in the living room… but we were determined! We arrived, set up camp, and thought to ourselves, “This ain’t so bad!”

Then it got dark…

and cold…

…really cold.

…and sadly, we didn’t have the good sense that God gave an animal to seek a warmer situation… we attempted to sleep on the cold, hard ground. When morning finally came, we all knew that we pulled the trigger on this excursion a little too quick. But that’s how I roll.

“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord.
“And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.” Isaiah 55:8

I’ve been always been fond of this verse… until it applies to me.

God, please teach me to be patient. With the people in my life… with my problems… with you and your timing, because I know that you are more than patient with me. Amen.

Are you as impatient as I am? How do you cope?

Leave a Reply

