1 Comment

Sing over me? Saturday Cafe pt. 5

Diving into the old testament again at the Saturday Cafe; The book of Zephaniah. A short book, but still a little difficult to wade through; God was pretty mad, ready to wipe out everything and leave the people in the hands of their enemies.

Speaking of the old testament, I take Genesis 1 quite literally; God spoke the world and everything in it into existence. He doesn’t have tool belt and gloves, he merely speaks and worlds are created; this is not a power that we should ever take lightly. So when he maps out how he will obliterate everything you can see, it would happen in the blink of an eye.

But even in this short prophecy, God stays true to all that he ever states about himself; if the people will lay aside their pride and seek his face, he will remove his harsh judgment. That would seem reward enough just being able to escape the ruin that he earlier prescribed, but our great God goes one better:

On that day they will say to Jerusalem,
“Do not fear, O Zion;
do not let your hands hang limp.

The LORD your God is with you,
he is mighty to save.
He will take great delight in you,
he will quiet you with his love,
he will rejoice over you with singing.”
[Zephaniah 3:16-17 NIV]

I am reminded that no matter how far I stray, my God longs to redeem me… and redemption isn’t enough for him… he delights in me, he quiets me, and best of all, he rejoices over me with singing.

Has anyone ever been so happy to have you with them that they start singing? Try to wrap your brain around creator of the universe doing it.

One comment on “Sing over me? Saturday Cafe pt. 5

  1. Wow, you really put that into perspective with your last question. I had never thought of this particular passage this way before. I know that I get excited to be with people that all I want to do is sing and dance, but it’s intruiging to think of God doing the same with us. I mean really, who doesn’t love being sang to? And to think that the God of the Universe is singing to me, well, that’s an incredible feeling.

Leave a Reply

