1 Comment

Crying out to God – Saturday Cafe pt. 6

This has been a tough week.

I’ll spare you the details, but I have been struggling with some personal issues for several weeks now… and I feel well past all of the embroidered-on-a-pillow scripture verses that that come to mind when I feel like this. I feel a bit helpless about some things… like I need to tie a fresh knot in the end of my rope each morning and hang on for dear life. Once again, I thank God that his word is never trite and that even through all of its amazing stories, there are stories of anguish that comfort me… knowing that great men of faith had their moments when they doubted… when they failed… when they questioned the Creator of their own heart.

Psalm 77:1-3

I cry out to God; yes, I shout.
Oh, that God would listen to me!
When I was in deep trouble,
I searched for the Lord.
All night long I prayed, with hands lifted toward heaven,
but my soul was not comforted.
I think of God, and I moan,
overwhelmed with longing for his help.

Home-slice was feeling the way I’ve been feeling. Times that I’m just exhausted and asking, “What in the *bleep* have I done?” Of course I’m drawn to a verses like these… misery loves company, right? That’s when I know I can’t just stop there and sit in the mud…

vv. 10-15

But then I recall all you have done, O Lord;
I remember your wonderful deeds of long ago.
They are constantly in my thoughts.
I cannot stop thinking about your mighty works. O God, your ways are holy.
Is there any god as mighty as you?
You are the God of great wonders!
You demonstrate your awesome power among the nations.

Truth is, God has bailed me out over and over again, but in my shallow mind all I tend to look at is just what is in front of me at this moment. I know in my heart that there will be answers for my questions, I’ve just never been the patient type.

Today my anchor is a short verse from Isaiah (42:16), God’s promise to me:

But I’ll take the hand of those who don’t know the way,
who can’t see where they’re going.
I’ll be a personal guide to them,
directing them through unknown country.
I’ll be right there to show them what roads to take,
make sure they don’t fall into the ditch.
These are the things I’ll be doing for them—
sticking with them, not leaving them for a minute. (Msg)

What do you cling to when you’re tapped out?

One comment on “Crying out to God – Saturday Cafe pt. 6

  1. Hey buddy! Thanks for the transparency! I feel you bro – not sure what the issue is, but I feel ya.

    I pray that your grip will strengthened enough to start climbing again.

Leave a Reply

