2 Comments

Worship – Saturday Cafe pt. 7

I’m stuck on a Psalm this morning… Ps. 95:6

Come, let us worship and bow down.
Let us kneel before the Lord our maker

One of the cool things about this passage is that it is worded virtually the same in the NIV, NLT, NASB, and KJV. I don’t know of another scripture that so closely lines up in four different translations. To me that would seem to imply that there is no other way to say this simple sentence.

Worship, in Hebrew, means to surrender.. God asks us to surrender our lives to Him.

Bow down, is a sign of humbleness. 2 Chronicles 7:14 says that if we humble ourselves and pray that God will forgive us and heal our land.

Kneel, to me says to submit… to yield to His sovereign authority. As I think about that some more, when I’m kneeling, it’s difficult for me to run away… so much better that I should stay there and worship the Lord, my maker.

It is easy enough to recognize that this scripture is about worship; what I notice is that there is no mention of music. In most churches, worship and music have been made synonymous. We must be careful to understand that worship is worship, with music or without. I honestly don’t think that God has a particular favorite when it comes to worship style. Our worship music is merely a vehicle of our worship. When I dwell on this, I’m reminded of a college professor in a video production class who told us that if the story we are portraying is strong enough, that the viewer should be able to turn the sound off and still get the message through the visuals. I believe that God enjoys the music, but if he was to hit the mute button, what does he see? Does he see me truly worshiping?

What does he see in you?

2 comments on “Worship – Saturday Cafe pt. 7

  1. Thanks for your insightful thoughts on true worship. As I am deployed in Baghdad, worship has a different intensity and atmosphere than in the safety of the States. I invite you to read about our last church service at my post called “Worship in Baghdad”. I’d be honored if you did.

    Thanks and God bless your heart of worship.

    joe
    http://sandboxadventures.wordpress.com

  2. Great Post. Yo, cant a brother just get a last name mention so that i move up the blog list? Is that to much to ask? :)….. Have a great weekend, make it happen.

Leave a Reply

