3 Comments

Branches and Glue

As I mentioned in my last post, my grandmother passed away last week and I attended the funeral over the weekend. This was a woman who I think of as timeless; as long as I can remember, there was gramma… and it never mattered how long we had been apart, we would just pick up where we left off. She was the center of our family tree and the woman who held us all together.

Here’s a look at the numbers: Mother of 6, grandmother of 19, great-grandmother of 51, great-great-grandmother of 2. At 96, she had done a lot of living. She buried 3 children, including my mother just last year.

My gramma had an amazing ability to make you feel like you were the most important person in her life… each of my many cousins and second-cousins would tell you the same thing. She loved… that was her job. She loved God and she loved her family.

Funerals are a lousy reason to get together, but it really was great being with so many family members that I hadn’t seen in years… some in decades, but I shouldn’t be surprised; gramma always had a way of bringing family together.

Agnes Peterka, 1912-2008

3 comments on “Branches and Glue

  1. She sounded like an amazing woman! I’m sorry for your loss. I’m glad you got to go back and pay your respects.

    Hey, at your constant prodding, I’m twittering now. my2bebops is my twitter name. Since you are the only other person who I know who knows about twittering, I’m basically twittering to you, so I think you should be my follower! šŸ˜€

  2. Sounds like she was an amazing woman.

  3. Sorry to hear about your grandma. What a great lady!

Leave a Reply

