Leave a comment

Unforced Rythms of Grace – Saturday Cafe pt. 8

I have really come to enjoy The Message translation of the bible…OK, for you purists, it’s a paraphrase… I just enjoy having a different perspective on scripture. I tend to read it along with The New Living translation or the NIV. Today, I’m in the book of Matthew, chapter 11.

Early in this chapter, Jesus is laying it on pretty thick… Coming down hard on the cities where people had seen him perform many miracles and did not repent. I almost get the feeling that he was ticked off… to the point that he needed to pray to gather himself.

Abruptly Jesus broke into prayer: “Thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth. You’ve concealed your ways from sophisticates and know-it-alls, but spelled them out clearly to ordinary people. Yes, Father, that’s the way you like to work.” (11:25-26)

He spoke with his Father and then turned right back to the crowd and spoke so tenderly… it was moments like this that I try to imagine the look in his eyes as he spoke… wanting disparately for lost people to become found.

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” (11:28-30)

I know that it sounds more poetic than spiritual, but I want to learn those unforced rhythms of grace. I want to walk with him and work with him.

How is your rhythm?

Leave a Reply

