Leave a comment

Highlights – Saturday Cafe pt. 10

Last night, I came across the first bible I ever owned; I purchased it in October of 1984. I had just started going to a non-denominational church and was learning so much about the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit for what seemed like the first time, even though I had crossed myself with those words my entire life growing up Catholic. It was one of those mind-blowing times that we all go through when something is so new and exciting that it’s all that we can think about.

As I look through this beaten up old book, I find so many highlighted sections of scripture… some places that I remember, some not so much. Notes written in the margins in places where the preacher had really given me some great insight. If my kids have to fight over anything when I pass away, I hope that it’s this bible.

I end up stopping in Jeremiah. All through this book, Jeremiah pleads with the people of Judah to return to God, declaring that submission to God is the only way out of trouble. In chapter 31, God speaks through Jeremiah, laying out wonderful promises. Promises that show the compassion of a loving father who wants his family back together… reminding the people that even though they have been away from him, he never stopped loving them.

The Lord appeared to him from afar, saying, I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore, I have drawn you with lovingkindness. (v. 3)

I thank God for loving me with an everlasting love all these years! I shutter to think where I would be without him. He has brought me through so many things with such great stories to tell, that speak of his lovingkindness.

For I will turn their mourning into joy
And will comfort them and give them joy for their sorrow.
“I will fill the soul of the priests with abundance,
And My people will be satisfied with My goodness,” declares the LORD.
(v. 13-14)

I have dealt with some big things this past week; big changes are coming quickly (more about that later). There were times of facing life-changing decisions for myself and my family that I thought would make my head explode… but God has given me so much comfort.

What are you dealing with… and what is God showing you through it?

Leave a Reply

