Leave a comment

The Eraser Word – Saturday Cafe pt. 12

I almost failed the second semester of English in my junior year of high school… That teacher and I just never got along and just getting to class was a chore. The only hope that I had for not repeating that course was to ace the final exam, which was based entirely on the final unit; the origins of words. Needless to say, I studied my brains out so I would never have to encounter that teacher ever again… and I aced the final! The really cool thing that came out of that time for me was a weird love of words… Words can be so powerful… and today, a very simple word jumps off the page at me in the following text:

Once we, too, were foolish and disobedient. We were misled and became slaves to many lusts and pleasures. Our lives were full of evil and envy, and we hated each other. But then God, our Savior, revealed his kindness and love, he saved us, not because of the righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He washed away our sins, giving us a new birth and new life through the Holy Spirit. (Titus 3:3-5 NLT)

Dr. Phil calls the word “but” the eraser word because no matter how you try to spin it, no matter where you use it, it negates any previous statement. The first definition of the word but at dictionary.com is: on the contrary… it IS the eraser word… and I’m so thankful!

I once was a loser… but then God changed my heart!

I once was a drunk… but then God saved my life!

I once was weak… but then God gave me confidence!

Please, feel free to share your own story here, even if you just fill in the the two blanks: I once was ________, but then God ___________!

Leave a Reply

