1 Comment

Staff prayer time

I don’t know how other churches do it but, I’m learning how Seacoast Church treats those tear-off prayer request cards on the back of the bulletin: The staff meets together every Wednesday for a time of worship and prayer… what a great boost in the middle of the week!

After a time of singing together and being encouraged by our leaders, the prayer request cards are distributed to all those in attendance and we actually pray specifically for the needs that people have written down. This may seem very simple but, I have never had such an opportunity before. I’ve seen the stuff on Christian television where people lay their hands on a stack of cards and pray a general prayer over them… to me, that just seems so disingenuous. Today, I got to pray for people dealing some very heavy issues; stuff that makes some of my stuff seem very small. What a great opportunity to serve the people of this church!

Written comments and complaints may be seen as report cards for what we do, and it’s easy to get caught up in them as we evaluate ourselves and our programs, but I’m learning to be much more concerned with the lives we can touch by taking time out from a busy week to pray.

I pray for them. I am not praying for the world, but for those you have given me, for they are yours. John 17:9

One comment on “Staff prayer time

  1. That’s awesome – we do the same thing with our “welcome pad” at staff meeting on Tuesday morning. We spend time praying for every request as well as staff prayer needs. I love it!

Leave a Reply

