7 Comments

Twice adopted – Saturday Cafe pt. 13

I was adopted as an infant, and what’s interesting is that when I share that with people, I typically get the same response; “Really? I had no idea!”. I’ve never really understood that response. Should there have been some odd characteristic in my personality that would have already given it away? Should I walk with a limp or have a facial tick that might cause the casual observer to ask, “By chance, were you adopted?” The truth is that I dont’ ever remember a time that I didn’t know that I was adopted… my mom had a way of explaining things to me and my adopted sister that we always understood, even at a very young age… so it has never been a big deal with me.

Today, I’m reading about adoption in the book of Romans. Perhaps, here is where my super-power of being adopted finally has some value… I have some insight on what it feels like to be adopted.

Therefore, dear brothers and sisters, you have no obligation to do what your sinful nature urges you to do. For if you live by its dictates, you will die. But if through the power of the Spirit you put to death the deeds of your sinful nature, you will live. For all who are led by the Spirit of God are children of God.

So you have not received a spirit that makes you fearful slaves. Instead, you received God’s Spirit when he adopted you as his own children. Now we call him, “Abba, Father.” For his Spirit joins with our spirit to affirm that we are God’s children. And since we are his children, we are his heirs. In fact, together with Christ we are heirs of God’s glory. But if we are to share his glory, we must also share his suffering. Romans 8:12-17 NLT

I have given this much though throughout my life as an adoptee: What would things have been like if I hadn’t been adopted? What trials and challenges would I have had to face if that single young girl had chosen to keep me? Obviously, there are thousands of scenarios that could have played out… but she made her decision and I believe that my life was better for it. With that understanding about my own adoption, I am infinitely more pleased that I have been adopted by God! I know where my life was going before I accepted Christ and it wasn’t good… but through his grace, I made my own decision to follow him, and my life is so much better for it.

7 comments on “Twice adopted – Saturday Cafe pt. 13

  1. i love how god chooses to use our struggle and not our comfort as an opportunity to express his love to us so clearly. and what naturally might be perceived as not the ideal turns out to be exactly perfect spiritually.

    god is so poetic. it’s one of his best features i think.

  2. 1 John 3: How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!

    Love that …

  3. Actually, I have always known…the way your left sleeve hangs a little, it just screams adoption. You rock brotherman! Great post.

    I dug the connections one, too. I always start to get connected, but then get too busy to get on the internet except to peruse the occasional RSS ag. I’ve been in denial that Seminary is my blog community. I have no idea how to manage all the relational outlets in life. However, even that is coming to an end. 09, the year of the blogsplosion!

  4. Adopted, huh? I had no idea…

  5. I can so relate to this, as I, too, was adopted at birth. There was never a time I didn’t know I was adopted. My mom used to tell me a story about when I was 5, how I told my kindergarten teacher that I was ‘dopted. She was so shocked to hear that.
    I have such gratitude for the decision my birth mother made, and I know my life is better for it. I too think this helps me better understand my adoption into the family of God. Thanks for sharing.

    ps…The question I find most interesting is “What’s it like being adopted?”

  6. That is so good!

    I’m adopted as well and I find people that first find out saying the same thing! As if being adopted means you have some kind of physical or developmental issue… haha!

    I’ve always made the connection with my physical adoption and being adopted into the God’s family… but I never really thought about what my life would’ve been like if I wasn’t adopted by God. It would have been COMPLETELY different… just as my life would’ve been completely different if I wasn’t adopted by my family…

    Thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

