Leave a comment

A Debt I Cannot Repay

htbr-web312x222At Seacoast Church, we are about to wrap up a series called, How to be Rich… it has been a very inspiring and challenging few weeks. Pastors Greg and Geoff Surratt have brought some great messages about how rich we all are, and how God wants us to use our riches for His glory.

The messages have also caused me to think about how I have been blessed throughout my life by very generous people… and the thing that stands out to me is that many have done things for me that I will never be able to repay. Most recently, I have been blessed to know Jeff and AnnMarie. This is a young couple from my church who have huge hearts for God. In addition to holding down full time jobs, they are regular volunteers at the church and AnnMarie makes regular treks to Africa as part of a medical missions team. They also happen to own a beautiful home… no big deal, right? Well, that is where their greatest on-going generosity lives; They committed their home to God’s service when they purchased it and have never gone back on that commitment. Their doors are always open for family, friends, friends of friends, missionaries, or in my case, a total stranger… when I’m in Charleston, I stay with the these amazing people; they allow me to live in their home and do not ask for anything in return. In fact, Jeff is always reminding me that I can stay as long as I need to. This is a kindness… a blessing that I will never be able to repay. These are two people who have found the joy of being generous! They make me want to be generous too… because it gives God great glory!

Please, share a story here of how you have been blessed by some one that you can never repay… simply because those stories bring God glory!

Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment. Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share. In this way they will lay up treasure for themselves as a firm foundation for the coming age, so that they may take hold of the life that is truly life. 1 Timothy 6:17-19

Leave a Reply

