5 Comments

Ready for an adventure?

3062482032_8e459fae35In the summer of 2007 I told my wife that I was tired of status quo… that I was tried of doing things the way I had always done them… I told God that I was ready for an adventure.

I quickly learned that God will take you up on statements like that…ready or not! Do I regret saying it? There are days that I do, and days that I want to yell, “Bring it on!”

Nearly two years later I feel like the adventure has been non-stop! One BIG cross-country move followed by another in-state move pending… Bad real estate market, bad economy, family loss, so much uncertainty… Wow… I don’t know if anyone else feels as overwhelmed as I do sometimes, but DANG, it feels so CRAZY all of the time!

The deeper I get into this adventure the more I realize that I must lean on God like never before… and even just admitting that is difficult… the truth is that I would probably spin out of control without him.

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. James 1:2-4 ESV

I look to this year with equal parts fear and excitement… fear of what I don’t know, and excitement about what God can do with it. Hang on… we’re on an adventure.

Where is your adventure taking you?

5 comments on “Ready for an adventure?

  1. Dude, your setting an example for us. thanks!

  2. Amen, brother! The key thing I think of is that I wouldn’t be in control of my life if I wasn’t following God so the comfort I get from knowing that God is in control makes following him through the adventurous times easier.

    Praying that you get the real estate thing wrapped up and your family can all be in one place again.

    Peace.

  3. Uh, yeah. I’ve felt it.

    I’m gonna have to write that scripture down & post it in my house somewhere.

  4. I hear so much of myself in that post. We are on different adventures right now but I feel like I’m learning the same lessons you are. Reading your post reminds me to encourage those around me more often. Especialy those who havent endured as many fires that I have.

    I really apreciate your heart and your honesty.

  5. Love it! Can totally relate. It has been awesome to watch how obedient you’ve been and an encouragement to me as my adventure seems to be just beginning. Your transparency has been one that helps reduce the fear factor in my own journey as I watch God’s faithfulness in yours.

    Thanks for the link!

    Jenn

Leave a Reply

