2 Comments

Social networking and the church

I’ve been blogging and twittering for nearly a year now and I’m amazed at how many great people that I have struck up friendships with. I now have new friends in Oregon, California, North Carolina, Indiana, New York, Florida, Georgia, Alabama… it really blows my mind when I consider how social networking is resulting in real relationships.

The best part about many of these new friendships is that we share a common thread of church work or simply a common faith. I love the large circle of Christ-followers that I now have access to… it brings a new level of community for the purposes of prayer, accountability, sharing of ideas, or just a good laugh with some one who is working out their own salvation.

networkIn the past week, I have connected with a worship leader here in Charleston, SC that I met through twitter; we have had lunch a couple of times now and are becoming good friends. I had a tokbox conversation with the creative director from a church in Arkansas; we were able to discuss the challenges and victories we both face in our jobs and how we’d like to explore ways to get people together in new ways to share our collective ideas and materials. On Thursday, I’m having coffee with a church planter (that I met through twitter) who is starting a church this spring. I look forward to hearing about his passion for reaching people for Christ. Without social networking, I doubt I would have ever come into contact with these guys.

As we are looking at what this new year holds for our churches and faith communities, I hope to connect with more great people who are doing what God has called them to do in places all over the world. We have so many ways available to us now that allow us to encourage each other, pray for each other and learn from each other.

Who are you connecting with?

2 comments on “Social networking and the church

  1. Social networking is amazing. Using blogs, twitter, now facebook and tokbox I have built a network of relationships of people who I consider real friends. They speak into my life, encourage and give advice, pray for me, and strangely I have even had people through these networks as me for help! I would NOT be the pastor I am without social networking. Crosspoint would not be the church we are without the influence of the people in my social network. And some day our videos will be better because of the power of social networking!

  2. Absolutely amazing the people we meet and the opportunities that arise through social networking! Great post!

    I’ve definitely had the opportunity to meet many people and have coffee with them… definitely not all of the same page spiritually but hey, that’s why I’m here, right? 🙂

    Thanks for sharing and I’ll buy you coffee one day when you’re free!

Leave a Reply

