2 Comments

Panic Button

I have been driving my current vehicle for 3 years. I’d like to think in 3 year’s time that I know a lot about this car… it’s capabilities and its limitations… You would think after all of this time that I would know enough about the keyless-remote.

2249703392_bcc4746131_mThe smart people at Toyota put the panic button on the back of the remote… seems reasonable… surely one would be prone to inadvertently hitting it if it were on the front, right? Well, here lately I seem to have made a nasty habit of hitting the panic button more times than I care to admit. It’s not that difficult; pull into the parking place, turn off the car, remove the keys and exit the vehicle. I’ve done it hundreds of times… why is it now can’t I seem to do it without hitting the stupid red button?!? I guess it does make for more of a grand entrance… work, grocery store, coffee shop… HONK-HONK-HONK; “Hey everyone, Steve’s here!”

Truth is, I feel like I hit the panic button all too often in my faith. When things don’t go my way, I’m very quick to start panicking! I’m uneasy, I easily get depressed and withdrawn… I’m anxious.

I’m thankful that God’s word is never-changing… and that no matter what I’m going through, it is able to calm and center me:

Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? [Matthew 6; 25-27]

What is making you anxious today?

2 comments on “Panic Button

  1. I dont get anxious about much, but lately I have been stressing over my kids. They are great kids, but how am I as a parent? Am I raising them right, doing the right things, setting them up for success, etc.

    Being a parent carries a lot of weight when you really want to do it right…

    BTW, can you add my blog to the SC blogroll????? 🙂

  2. As the proud father of a 10 day old, my first. Finances are the stressful part of life at the moment. By the way, I found you via twitter and added you to my blogroll on my site. I really enjoy the videos you put together for your church.

Leave a Reply

