2 Comments

When I grow up

It started at a very young age… my dad had this amazing cassette tape recorder, and when I was about 7 or 8 years old, my mom taught me how to use it. Rewind the tape all the way, press play and record at the same time, and talk… It doesn’t matter what you talk about, just don’t waste tape making silly fart noises. This simple lesson became a life-long obsession of recording things for me.

2405612828_cac92e8731_mA couple of years later, I almost flipped my lid when I received my own portable tape recorder for Christmas. I was obsessed! I made tape recordings of everything: my own radio shows, parody radio commercials, play-by-play of 6th grade basketball games… and fart noises, of course. I remember commandeering a small suitcase to keep all of my “gear” in. Hardly a day would pass by that I didn’t record something. By high school, I had moved on to still photography. I started taking the basic photo classes as a freshman and by my junior year, I was the yearbook photo editor. During those years, I was obsessed with taking pictures… even if all I had was my cat as a subject, I would chase her around the back yard until I had killed another roll of film. (That’s right kids, back in the day we used a substance called “film”… look it up on wikipedia, you will be amazed). After high school, I did portraits and wedding photography to supliment my income. In the mid-80s, I sort-of fell into video work and the obsession was re-tooled and lives on to this day.

To me, it makes sense that I do what I do today… it was developing in me all along. Sure, I had some short-lived childhood aspirations of being a rock star, a truck driver, and even wanted to be one of the guys who loads suitcases onto airplanes… but it was the constant love of pictures and sounds that helped me arrive at the now, my passion of telling stories through the medium of video.

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it. (Psalm 139:13-14)

Take a quick look back over your life… can you see the signs, even if only slight, that would allow you to see how you became who and what you are today?

2 comments on “When I grow up

  1. I love that verse. In fact it is above my soon to be born (due date on March 4th) crib (jonandchaeli.blogspot.com). I often forget to look back at how God has “knit me together” and how He has consistently been working and weaving my threads together to make me whom I am today. Thanks for the great post!

  2. Steve,

    I hear you. I’ve been who I am my whole life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

