3 Comments

Time for the next move

370906549_9b006118b7_mAt the time of this writing, I’m just 3 days away from finally moving my family to beautiful Charleston, SC. Our home in Greenville has been leased and we have secured a nice place to rent in “Chucktown”. The UHaul is reserved, utilities are set to transfer to our renters, and the newspaper delivery has been canceled. I am a little nervous about driving a big truck carrying everything I own, but I will forge on.

This move, while shorter in distance than our big move from Phoenix, AZ, it still feels like a very big move! We have been waiting and praying for this move for nearly 8 months… in that time, I have learned so much:

– A whole new level of patience; God does what He wants, when He wants. I’m still learning that I need to trust Him with EVERYTHING… and that He cares about absolutely EVERY detail of our lives. I may not have full grasp of this yet, but I’m closer than I ever have been.

– A whole new appreciation for my wife; She really is my better half. She keeps me balanced. She makes me want to be a better person. She has put up with so much in these two moves… and after all of these years, she still loves me. I do not deserve this woman.

– A new appreciation for God’s people; I have been in and around churches for many years, and sadly, I have been hurt by many who claim to follow Christ… in my new job, in my new city, I have been treated with mind-blowing kindness and immeasurable blessings! My new friends have provided places to stay, meals, and shoulders to lean on in my moments of loneliness… and now they’re offering to meet us at the new place to move our stuff in… there seems to be no end to their kindness!

– A great deal of appreciation for my new network of friends near and far (bloggers, tweets, and others) that have prayed for us and encouraged us at every turn of the calendar. You people have shown that the (C)hurch is bigger than any building can ever contain.

– Gratitude; If I can sum up all that I have learned into one word, this would be it. I am grateful beyond words…

“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord.
“And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.
For just as the heavens are higher than the earth,
so my ways are higher than your ways
and my thoughts higher than your thoughts. — (Isaiah 55: 8-9 NLT)

What “season” are you in… and what are you learning from it?

3 comments on “Time for the next move

  1. You already know – I’m in the same season as you. We are preparing to move across the country…again. We’ve been blessed w/ the same sorts of things as you. Good friends who’ve offered housing, food & support.

    One thing I am struggling with during this transition..is the friends we’ve made in our current town. Friendships here aren’t what we’re used to. They’re of convenience. When someone truly needs help (like me, right now, packing the entire 3100sf house while taking care of 3 little ones)…everyone runs. It’s so hurtful. But, I’m reminded of the friends we already have back in OR who will be there to help us unload. And I can trust that they’ll be there. There’s no doubt.

    That’s what I’m ready for. REAL relationships again.

  2. Congrats on the move… perfect post for me. I’m in that pre-season of the next “season”. Not sure what God has in plan but know that he’s preparing us for changes, changes that only He can see us through.

    Great post and welcome to Charleston! Coffee on me one day.. I’m at the Longpoint *bucks weekly.

  3. You are awesome and I have the opportunity to reap the benefits of some of the change you implemented in your previous job. The longer I sit in my current position, the more I understand the challenges you were faced with and the frustrations you endured. I pray for you often and when I do, I thank God for who he has made you to be and how he used you in Greenville, SC. Don’t ever stop raising the bar of excellence. God is using you in a mighty way. Call me next time you are in Gville. I would love to do lunch and catch up.

Leave a Reply

