Leave a comment

Every Thursday

You know the feeling… you’re laying there in bed on a spring morning, a cool breeze coming in the window, hoping that the alarm clock never goes off… and then you hear it… The garbage truck is in the neighborhood and you forgot to put the can on the street last night!

2504281556_de76d6c17f1OK, by “you” I mean ME… I looked at the clock and saw that I had 15 minutes until the beeping would begin and much to my surprise, I fell back to sleep… until I heard that unmistakable sound of a large vehicle, stopping and starting as it creeps up and down our neighborhood streets every Thursday morning, rain or shine…In an instant, I knew exactly what had stirred me from my last minute nap… I sprang from the bed, threw on some shorts, grabbed my glasses and flew down the stairs…repeating one word over and over (a word that one might utter repeatedly when you’ve forgotten something). Focused on my mission, I ran into the garage and hit the opener… and in one cat-like move, grabbed the big green can and headed for the door, figuring that I’d have the necessary clearance by the time I crossed the threshold. As I felt the morning sun on my face, I quickly hit top white-guy, bare-foot speed and nearly took off the side-view mirror of my car bolting down the driveway. I came to a screeching halt at the curb only to realize that the sanitation engineers had already hit our cul-de-sac and were disappearing down the street. I took a shameful walk across the street to confirm my status by looking into the now empty can of one of my neighbors.

Sadness.

Why do I do that? Not the rude awakening part… the part when my wife says to me on Wednesday night, “You need to get the garbage can to the curb tonight”, and I shrug it off thinking that I’ll just do it tomorrow? It’s real simple; If I had put a tenth of that panic energy into the easy task of being prepared the night before, Thursday morning would be a non-issue!

Therefore, prepare your minds for action; be self-controlled; set your hope fully on the grace to be given you when Jesus Christ is revealed. 1 Peter 1:13 (NIV)

Truth is, I tend to be lazy… I tend to procrastinate… I really want that to change.

What was the last truck you missed?

Leave a Reply

