5 Comments

Today, I danced with Cinderella

Interesting what a finality there is to a wedding… Regardless of how long this child has been my daughter, such a definitive line is drawn the moment she says “I do”. Perhaps that is why the father-daughter dance can be such an emotional one. Does her marriage mean that I’m seeing her for the last time? No… I’ll see her again in just a couple of weeks, and who knows how many more times after that? Yet, there I was today… dancing with my oldest daughter in what seemed like so much more of an end for me, for us. I held her so tight, I shed many tears, and I listened to the words to our song:

3645817036_0e56f51688

Well, she came home today with a ring on her hand
Just glowing and telling us all they had planned
She says, “Dad, the wedding’s still six months away
But I need to practice my dancing
Oh, please, Daddy, please?”

So I will dance with Cinderella
While she is here in my arms
‘Cause I know something the prince never knew
Oh, I will dance with Cinderella
I don’t want to miss even one song
‘Cause all too soon the clock will strike midnight
And she’ll be gone (Steven Curtis Chapman)

5 comments on “Today, I danced with Cinderella

  1. I cannot imagine. Letting go has got to be so tough. Looks like you both did a great job & raised an independent woman!

    The pictures were beautiful, as is your daughter.

  2. steve- she does not know how lucky she really is to have a dad that loves her so much…i regret that my daughter does not habe the father in her life that she deserves, but glad to know that REAL fathers, REAL men still exist…
    congratulations to you all!

  3. Man that is awesome! You can see the love you guys have for each other! I hope I can be that kind of dad as well…

  4. Okay… now I’m crying. This picture took me back to the day I married Mark. The time came for my dad and I to danced. It was the one and only time I had ever danced with my daddy. He cried the whole time. All I could do is hold him and tell him how much I loved him. I finally asked him why he was crying and he said…”Because my little girl is all grown up and I missed all of it.”

    Praise be to God that you have been there and didn’t miss a moment. You have blessed your precious “Cinderella” in ways that you will never even be able to comprehend.

    Well done good and faithful servant!

    Much love and respect to you!
    Happy Father’s Day Daddy!
    Love,
    Cindy

  5. Congratulations Steve! I can’t imagine what it must be like to have that father daughter dance. I have 3 daughters but it will be awhile before I get the opportunity to dance at their weddings (oldest is almost 9).

    I can only hope that I have shown them what a husband and father should look like when it comes time for them to make that big step. It sounds like you gave her the right model…

    Peace,
    Bubba

Leave a Reply

