3 Comments

To pull it or leave it

On April 18, 2008, I posted a short report on a video shoot that I did with Jon & Kate Gosselin. More than a year later, it is still the most read post I have ever had in the short life of this blog. Obviously, with all of the recent media attention on the Gosselins, my post must come up with regularity in general searches on this couple… After watching the episode of Jon & Kate Plus 8 tonight, I’m torn; should I leave the 14 month old post that speaks of a genuine couple who made time to speak with me and how much more appreciation that I had for their show after talking to them… or do I pull it down after reading:

On Monday June 22, 2009, legal proceedings were initiated in Pennsylvania to dissolve the ten-year marriage of Jon and Kate Gosselin.

I’ll be thinking about this for a few days…. What do you think?

3 comments on “To pull it or leave it

  1. Leave it…but add a link back to this. You made a comment that their show is “real.” If nothing else, they validated that statement tonight.

    I’ll be posting my own thoughts in a day or two. I’m heartbroken by the whole thing.

  2. There is a third option. Add an edit / update to the bottom of the post and add your current feelings.

  3. Steve, I think it depends on how you feel about your statement “I can tell you after spending some time with these folks, they are genuine!” If you still feel that is the truth, then I think you leave the original post up there as is. If you believe in the genuineness of these folks, then this hard time in their lives doesn’t change how things were 14 months ago.

    If, on the other hand, your belief in that statement has changed and you don’t feel like it is true any more, you should probably, at least, add a note/edit like Heather says above.

    I will admit that I saw the episode last night. I feel for them in some ways and, unfortunately, my heart is cold towards them in many ways. I’m not saying I’m right. Just saying what I feel about it.

    In any case, I don’t really think there is a wrong decision regarding your post.

    Peace,
    Bubba

Leave a Reply

