1 Comment

Never done

2269111078_994487e836_mI have a passion; telling stories via video. Very little fires me up as much as a good story, told well and translated to an audience where people’s hearts might be changed. I love the whole process; the details of planning, taking the time to find the right angles for shooting, the seemingly endless time of editing… at times, it’s all I think about!

I don’t know if I’m unique in my view of editing, but what I often find is that I have a difficult time walking away from the “final product”… I’m always looking and re-looking at a project to see what else I can tweak… at times to the point that I’m about to go cross-eyed. I’ve even found that I can look at old projects from years ago and still want to go back and change them some more. The truth is, I’m never done editing, I just run out of time.

This gets me thinking about God, and I’m once again reminded where true passion comes from… He creates and He edits, and I’m thankful.

Create in me a clean heart, O God,
and renew a right spirit within me.
Cast me not away from your presence,
and take not your Holy Spirit from me.
Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
and uphold me with a willing spirit. Psalm 51:10-12 ESV

One comment on “Never done

  1. I would completely agree.

    I have to set a clock on what we’re going to finish and in what time. It also helps to have so many projects backed up behind one another that it forces you to be subjective on your videos.

    Just came across a video we did 2 years ago and found myself seeing only the things that I considered unfinished…but most people will never see.

    Love, love, love the editing process.

Leave a Reply

