1 Comment

First-time flyer?

344692534_c00c4ebc25_mOver the last 10 years or so, I have had to do a lot of flying… not as much as some, but well more than others. When it comes to airport security, I know the drill: get in line, have your boarding pass and ID ready… take off your shoes, no liquids, gels or aerosols in your bags, laptops & camcorders must be removed from your bag for inspection… it can be a little unnerving! And while I’m quite familiar with all of this, it never ceases to amaze me that every time I fly there is someone near me in line that seems to have no idea how this process works. They’re not prepared, can’t seem to find their driver’s license, and are ready to walk though the metal detector wearing their shoes! Don’t they know how much they’re slowing down the process? The rest of us have places to go, coffee to buy and gates to wait at!

You know I have to spin this…

Over the past 25 years or so, I’ve been going to church a lot. Not as much as others, but well more than enough. When it comes to church time, I know the drill. Get up, get ready, get the kids ready, get everyone in the car, get through traffic, get the car parked, get the kids signed-in, get greeted for the third time, get your bulletin… sing along and have your bibles out. And while I’m quite familiar with all of this, it never ceases to amaze me that every once in a while, we get someone at church that has no idea how this process works. They don’t know where to park, they don’t know how to get their kids checked in… they don’t know the words to any of our songs. Don’t they know how much they’re messing up our routine? The rest of us have to fill in all of the blanks on our sermon hand-out and get to lunch before the Methodists get there!

When was the last time you helped a first time flyer?

One comment on “First-time flyer?

  1. Great way of looking at it, my friend. They simply do not know the drill, and they stand there feeling foolish as we walk by and offer no help at all.

    I wrote an article on one of my blogs that addresses this issue by offering some suggestions to people that want to assist “first time flyers.” You can read it at http://parkpastor.blogspot.com/ Just scroll down to the article entitled “First Impressions.” I think you might find this useful.

    I also have another blog about the rules of church growth http://www.4achangeministries.com these articles might be of some help to you as well.

    I like your writing style. Will be back from time to time. LMK If I can ever be of any help to you.

    Keith Kannenberg

Leave a Reply

