2 Comments

Making Time

“Time is free, but it’s priceless. You can’t own it, but you can use it. You can’t keep it, but you can spend it. Once you’ve lost it you can never get it back.” -Harvey MacKay

I recently had about an hour to kill while I waited for my daughter to finish her shift where she works. I had no wi-fi, so messing around on the laptop was out, so I pulled out my new 2010 calendar and a notebook and used the time to think about the coming year. I made sure that my date book had all of my standing meetings, important family dates, and holidays all noted.

Then I started thinking about some of the sermon series that we have coming up at Seacoast and jotted down a few ideas that I will come back to at some point, even if just for a jump-start to other ideas. I grabbed my bible and looked up a couple of verses that came to mind as I pondered some themes and jotted them down as well.

What is going on?

This doesn’t ever happen… Me, just sitting, thinking, dreaming. But, I can’t tell you how amazing it felt! I’ve heard about people doing this, but it always seems to be the uber-cool people like Carlos Whittaker and Anne Jackson… not me. Yet, there I was.

I learned how valuable time like that is. Can I do it all the time? Probably not… but I’d like to have a goal of making time each month when I can get away from all that is ‘normal’ so I can think, organize, and dream… even if only for an hour.

Do you make this kind of time for yourself?

2 comments on “Making Time

  1. how did you do this “time” thing…….?

    cuz i want in.

  2. Anne, you rock; I’m honored that you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

