Leave a comment

Salt and light and a prayer cross

Confession; I used to be one of those people who liked Christian book stores and the trinkets that lure well-meaning believers of the Way. I got giddy every time I saw a new t-shirt that depicted a well known product re-named as something in Christian-ese.

reebok = reborn

*sigh*

Thankfully, I got over all of that.

Now, the last thing I want is to be perceived as a bitter, cynical believer… that’s not who I am. I’ve just come to a point where I’m convinced that the cheesy t-shirts and bumper stickers do nothing more than isolate the bearers and turn away those who don’t share our beliefs. I might change my mind if I were ever to meet some one who claims to have come to faith because of something they read on a Christian hoodie, but to this day I haven’t. I’m not suggesting for a minute that any of these things are bad, but they do tend to speak a language that is often only understood by those on the inside thus alienating those who don’t understand.

You are the salt of the earth, but if salt has lost its taste, how shall its saltiness be restored? It is no longer good for anything except to be thrown out and trampled under people’s feet. Matthew 5:13 ESV

Salt is best used in small amounts, never over-powering… just a pinch, right?

I have a neighbor across the street who I haven’t officially met yet. We’ve gone from the awkward “don’t make eye contact” stage to a hearty wave when we pass on the street. Some day soon, I’ll initiate a hand shake and introduction, and when I do, I won’t be wearing a LORD’S GYM t-shirt that might automatically make him stand-offish about who I am. I want to get to know him and his family… get to know what they’re into, and ultimately what he struggles with.

I’m looking to make a friend, not a convert.

I’m looking to add value… and just a pinch of salt.

Leave a Reply

