Leave a comment

He still redeems

This is what the Lord says—your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: “I am the Lord your God, who teaches you what is good for you and leads you along the paths you should follow. Isaiah 48:17

I missed a lot of time with my wife and daughters while I worked in sports television, but none more concentrated as when I was gone for the better part of a month doing the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, Greece. Opportunities like that were amazing, but I knew that I could never get back the time that I missed with my kids.

And yet, I experienced the redemption of time today.

My oldest daughter is now a 3rd grade teacher in Arkansas. She called me last week to tell me that her class was studying the history and culture of Greece and wanted to know if I could send her some pictures from my trip. Somewhere in the conversation, we got the idea that we should try a Skype call in her classroom so that her students could ask me questions about my experiences. We set the date for today.

Skyping with a great bunch of 3rd graders

The kids had thought out a handful of questions to ask… they wanted to know about the buildings, the Greek language, and were absolutely amazed that anyone could be in an airplane for so many hours. We talked about the food, the landscape and maybe the most important thing, I taught them how to say ‘thank you’ in Greek…. it was wonderful.

In about 35 minutes, God had managed to take what was a loss of time together 7 years ago and turn it into something that my daughter and I will always remember; the day her dad got to be a guest speaker in her classroom, from 1200 miles away.

Σας ευχαριστώ, ο Θεός, ο λυτρωτής μου (Thank you, God, my redeemer)

Leave a Reply

