1 Comment

Pursuing Christ, Creating Art

I haven’t done a ‘books worth reading’ post in a while, but I am really excited to share this with my readers.

I’m quite sure that I’ve never read a book like the one I’m recommending now; My friend Gary Molander has written a book for anyone who works in the production of church related media, Pursuing Christ, Creating Art; Experiencing Life at the Intersection of Faith and Creativity. I’ve had the honor of knowing Gary for a couple of years now, and his influence has caused me to change the way I think… the way I approach my own creative process, by simply helping me understand the proper order:

  • Pursue Christ with all that I am
  • Create my art as a response to who He is and what He means to me.

I must admit that I’m at a bit of a loss as to where to start on this little review; This book is so good that I might end up quoting everything in it and then Gary would make no money and his wife and kids wouldn’t eat, and no one wants that.

Simply put, Gary understands us. He’s done his time as a church pastor and knows first-hand what we as producers and artists go through as the weekends keep showing up right about the same time every week. After 17 years in pastoral ministry, Gary resigned from his church to what was initially an unknown future. He eventually formed Floodgate Productions, a video production company that produces short films and other visual media for churches all over the world.

We don’t create art for God. He doesn’t need it. We create art in response to God because the world needs it. –Gary Molander

Gary’s words will challenge and encourage you. He isn’t trying to prescribe a new “how to” on creativity, but rather what might be a new thought process where we all need constant reminding that we are not our ministry, we are not what we produce, and that our relationship with our Creator is much more critical than anything we could ever create.

At the core, being an artist is a heart condition, not a job. And art created from that place is intended to be more mission-related than we’ve ever dreamed.

I also love that he enlisted the help of some other folks who do what we do to get several different insights on faith and the creative process.

Get this book. Read it carefully. Read it and mark it up with a highlighter and a pen. In six months, go back and read it again.

He has given me a new song to sing, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see what he has done and be amazed. They will put their trust in the Lord. Psalm 40:3

One comment on “Pursuing Christ, Creating Art

  1. I have just finished reading this book as well. It is indeed challenging and motivating. I recommend it for Christian artists of any type.

Leave a Reply

